'Elvis Lives' as a parent

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

New Topic Post Reply
HostaDesigner

'Elvis Lives' as a parent

Post by HostaDesigner »

...either pollen OR pod parent...I'm struggling with this one. I have yet to get a single pod to form using EL. Is this one touchy for anyone? This is my first year using it.

I can't even get a ridiculously fertile F1 seedling of 'Outrageous' to set a pod with it.

:roll:
Willowy

Post by Willowy »

Last summer I tried Elvis lives as pod and donner -- no luck at all. The couple of pods that looked like they may have seeds had nothing! I won't even bother this year.
a.k.a. hostabuff
My Hosta List & My Blog
DBoweMD

Post by DBoweMD »

No luck with Elvis Lives here either. Cross Green Fountain or Spritzer with blue plants and you might get a similar but more fertile plant for the effect you want from Elvis Lives.
wzbt03

EL

Post by wzbt03 »

I have a very mature specimen of Elvis Lives that I have been playing with the year. No luck either direction so far but I have not given up.
I has about 10 scapes full of flowers and even though they are going to be finished in a week or two, there is some promising looking ones.
HostaDesigner

Post by HostaDesigner »

If everyone else is having the same trouble, I'll probably give up on it this year. It's pretty sad to see these aborted pods fall off of great pod parents time after time. :( I'm running out of flowers until the fragrant ones start blooming.
leafmould

Post by leafmould »

Don't give up :o 'E.L.' pollen has made for some wonderfull plants here :P try it on your favorite streak :cool:
Mr. Leafmould
HostaDesigner

Post by HostaDesigner »

leafmould wrote:Don't give up :o 'E.L.' pollen has made for some wonderfull plants here :P try it on your favorite streak :cool: