Bittttt-tt-tt-terly cold. Damage ahead?

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

New Topic Post Reply
HostaDesigner

Bittttt-tt-tt-terly cold. Damage ahead?

Post by HostaDesigner »

-13º F!? Hurt hostas?

I've been growing hostas for nearly 15 years. But, I have never encountered THIS cold of weather in SW Michigan. Our local news is predicting -13º F. Granted we have about 7-8 inches of snow on the ground, can I expect some damage in the spring? I'm expecting to lose some of my Zone 6 "perennials" I've been cheating along for a while now.

???
Thanks,
Mike
Diana
USDA Zone: 9

Re: Bittttt-tt-tt-terly cold. Damage ahead?

Post by Diana »

While you are having record lows, we are not here. Too warm and no rain here in the Silicon Valley which means the hostas might not remain dormant for long enough to maintain vigor.. So, "too warm and damage ahead " here on the other end of the extreme? I guess it works both ways. YUCK. Actually I don't think you can hurt them while they are dormant and frozen as long as they don't totally dry out.

-Diana
Lessadragon
USDA Zone: 5b

Post by Lessadragon »

If you have a good snow cover, the hostas will be fine. Remember, they are hardy to zone 3 for the most part. Like Diana said, as long as they remain underground and don't dry out, they will be fine. Your zone 6 perennials may not make it though. It depends if they are in a protected area or not. We get a lot colder than that here and sometimes the zone 6 stuff makes it...mostly it doesn't. The hostas all do great though!

Lynn
Linda P

Post by Linda P »