Anything to do to encourage hearty plants this Spring?

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

New Topic Post Reply
mamattorney
USDA Zone: 5

Anything to do to encourage hearty plants this Spring?

Post by mamattorney »

I am new to Hostas. I bought around 10 plants from Chris last year to populate a slim bed surrounding our patio. I think they did fairly well, but we had a bad drought, so I don't know for sure. I used several bags of Miracle Grow soil when adding soil to the bed, but am not sure what to do about fertilizer this year. There is also a thinnish layer of mulch on the bed right now if that matters.

They are all still underground and I am hopeful that they will all come back this year. I know they are relatively care free plants, but if there's anything I should be doing, please let me know.

Also - and this is a long shot, but I thought I would mention it. My kids acquired a pair of guinea pigs over the winter and we keep them on fleece instead of regular bedding. What that means is that I have a garbage can outside that I shake out the thousands of guinea pig poops into on a twice daily basis. They are 100% vegetarian, like rabbits. I've read online that it's possible to utilize the poops as fertilizer directly (no composting) in the bed - or turn it into a "tea" my mixing 1 part poop with 2 parts water and letting it dissolve and then pouring the solution into the soil. Do you think I could use this with hostas?
jerryshenk
USDA Zone: 6a

Re: Anything to do to encourage hearty plants this Spring?

Post by jerryshenk »

I'll be watching this thread too to see what the experts at this recommend.
kaylyred
USDA Zone: 5a

Post by kaylyred »

I'm no expert, but my yearly ritual seems to work for me.