Are Morning Glories invasive?

Use this area to discuss climbing plants such as trumpet vines, clematis, and others.

Moderator: Chris_W

DD

Are Morning Glories invasive?

Post by DD »

Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie here, so hope this isnt a dumb question. I've been buying seeds galore and have bought several packs of morning glories. I've heard from some that they can be invasive and others say no problem with them at all. I plan to grow some in a container. Are there some varieties that aren't invasive? The flowers are just beautiful and I couldnt resist.

Also, I was thinking if they weren't invasive, I would plant them in my garden. Is that a bad idea? Also, do hummingbirds like these flowers? Thanks so much, DD[/b]
kHT
USDA Zone: 7-8 Z-nial

Post by kHT »

I won't grow them as I don't care to have them all over our yard. My neighbors have enough for everyone! It took us almost 5 years to rid our yard of what was here when we moved in.
Old earth dog

Post by Old earth dog »

They do reseed easily and comming into an already overgrown situation like KHT's could be a pain. The new seedlings are easy to pull up IF you keep after them. Hummingbirds love them. Just remember, it was KHT that said go ahead and try them. :D :D :D :wink:
DD

Post by DD »

Yes, I was afraid I'd get that answer. I must be nuts, but the flowers are so pretty that I've gotta grow them. Anyone else out there that can give me some good advice and maybe reduce the fear factor? Thanks all....DD
thy
USDA Zone: 7

Post by thy »

Hej and wellcome to the forums :D

Do not know your zone, but OED and Karma are in diffent zones and both tells you they can be invasive.

Try to grow them in pots or in a special area where you can cut them down in the fall and get rid of them. If they come back in the spring it is easy to clean that area and plant in it after it is cleaned... at that time you know if you can leave a few to flower :wink:
Pia
Against stupidity the gods themselves struggle in vain.