Clematis Rouge Cardinale and seedling

Use this area to discuss climbing plants such as trumpet vines, clematis, and others.

Moderator: Chris_W

GrannyNanny

Clematis Rouge Cardinale and seedling

Post by GrannyNanny »

This is my first time ever on the vine forum, but since I've been getting more and more wiggy over clematis, I decided I'd better bone up on them, and this seemed a good place to do it. The following are pics of Rouge Cardinale, and one of only three seedlings that I've ever managed to get from a clematis. I found that, like hostas, clematis do not come true from seed, but what I got is gorgeous, and it blooms like crazy for most of the summer. Phyllis
(aka GrannyNanny)
Attachments
2004 06 12 Clematis lav sdlng of Rouge Cardinale.jpg
2004 7 15 Clematis Rouge Cardinale.jpg
thy
USDA Zone: 7

Post by thy »

Clems were my first garden passion, and I STILL LOVE THEM !!!
That lavender seedling is stunning !!
No the hybrids do not come true, but you have been very lucky with your test one.

One of the best thing ( in my opinion) is to let a little piece of a clem climb around the hostas, somehow the do a very natural setting, both are woodland plants and in a controlled :roll: way it is easy to see.

Pia
Against stupidity the gods themselves struggle in vain.
E-mail for pics hostapics@gmail.com
Old earth dog

Post by Old earth dog »

:o That's a fantastic seedling. I've never tried them from seed yet. You just gave me the energy to try this year. :wink:
GrannyNanny

Post by GrannyNanny »

OED -- Be prepared -- the books say that the germination takes up to a year!!!! I was really lucky with that one, in that it germinated in a reasonable time (say three or four months), along with two others, both of which had smaller flowers, and they were dark purple, almost the color of Jackmani. I have one of the dark purple ones on this same obelisk, but the flowers don't show up in this pic. The two of them together are lovely.