Question about transplanting

Use this forum to discuss Hemerocallis (daylilies).

Moderators: Chris_W, John

eastwood2007

Question about transplanting

Post by eastwood2007 »

I'm new to daylilies, thanks to all the lovely seed offerings on this forum.

I got some seeds from Ed (thanks again, Ed) and someone else a couple years ago and now I have MANY lovely daylily seedlings. I planted ALL the seedlings out thinking I may get a dozen or so keepers, but they are all terrific (perhaps only to my untrained eye maybe, but I like 'em). I just planted them in a "field" garden so I could evaluate them after blooming, but now I want to move them into my gardens or give them to friends, etc. As they started to bloom this year, I tried marking them with numbers as to which I liked best, but when they all turned out so beautiful, I quit numbering and am planning to move them all.

So, here's the question (finally, I know :D )...I want to dig and pot them all and wait to see what the bloom is so I can place them where I want according to color, height, etc. If I dig them early in the spring when the fans start showing, will they go ahead and bloom? Or would I be better to dig them this fall, so they can settle into their pots? If I dig them this fall, do I run the risk of losing them thru the winter? What would you recommend?

Thanks in advance! :D
Charla
Latitude 38.57N; Longitude -94.89W (Elev. 886 ft.)
Ed_B
USDA Zone: 4b

Re: Question about transplanting

Post by Ed_B »

Char
First of all I don't know what your winters are like

Here in NE WI, cold long winters
I would dig and pot them as early in the spring as possible if this is the direction you go with.
Potted plants may be stunted as to true potential, so it may not give you the desired results.