Spraying a protective coating

Ask craft related questions, share your current projects, your dream project, or show us your talent!

Moderators: Chris_W, Soummer

CarolA

Spraying a protective coating

Post by CarolA »

I have trouble trying to evenly spray a clear coat over my painted craft work. I tried the clear gloss and had trouble with it looking speckled. I now tried the matt finish and have the same trouble. I tried to careful because I know you can use too much and it might look like it dripped. I gave my painted wood two coats and thought it looked fine until I held it up to the light and saw speckles. How do you prevent this from happening?
newtohosta-no more

Post by newtohosta-no more »

I am no expert at this at all and usually have the same problem when I use any kind of spray paint. I can only give the advice that they give on the BBC show "Changing Rooms": keep the can about 15 inches away (I think that is the measurement they give) and spray in a sweeping motion back and forth, but only a very thin layer. It's best to let it dry completely and spray several thin layers until it's all covered. It's when you hold the spray can too close to the object and apply too thick of a coat that you get splatters and drips. And ,of course, make sure you shake the can very well before beginning.
I'll try and remember that advice next time I am spray painting something. :lol:
~JOAN~
My Hosta List

Tomorrow is promised to no one, so love and laugh today.
rakenleafs

Post by rakenleafs »

Since using about 1000 cans of spray paint this summer I can pass on a few tips I noticed.
* If working out doors, watch the wind, I put a few projects in a large 3 sided cardboard box.
* Yes, at least 15 inches away, using sweeping motion, make sure you are spraying as you sweep to the project and are still spraying as you are sweeping away from the object.