Growing hosta from seed

Want to share and learn about Hosta hybridizing and seed starting and growing? Then this is the place. Also check out our annual seed exchange held in late fall and winter.

Moderator: redcrx

Quiet Storm

Growing hosta from seed

Post by Quiet Storm »

I have never grown hosta from seed before, and would like to give it a try, but have no clue how to go about it. Several of my hostas have produced seed pods this year. When and how do I harvest the seed? Do the seeds need to be started indoors? If I just leave the pods on the plants, what are the chances of them self-seeding? Hope I don't sound as clueless as I feel. Thanks for any tips.
Gloria

I will breathe after my own fashion...
Henry David Thoreau, Civil Disobedience

My Hosta List
MollyD

Post by MollyD »

Hello Gloria. I'm fairly new to hosta seeds myself but I did sprout and grow some seeds last year. There is some good information at http://www.hostalibrary.org/hyb/index.html . You sort of have to read through it to find the parts you want since it's directed at people who want to hybridize.
I know that some people get volunteers that have self seeded but I don't know if that works as well as planting them yourself.

MollyD
MollyD's Hosta list
Lat: 42.89N, Lon: 77.28W
GrannyNanny

Post by GrannyNanny »

If you sow them in October, under lights, you'll have pretty nice sized seedling plants by planting-out time in May. (About the size of a one year old nursery plant.) Sowing outside, in the ground, takes a lot longer -- probably it'll be the third year before you'd have a plant the size of your October-May seedling. There is a site with detailed directions for growing from seed, but I don't know where it is. Maybe someone else remembers how to find it. Phyllis
Patrushka
USDA Zone: 5a

Post by Patrushka »

Check out Westside Hosta FAQ, Hostas from Seed, Part 1 and Part 2. The instructions on Page 2 are from our own GrannyNanny. :D