Need advice is this?......

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

hummingbird
USDA Zone: 9b

Need advice is this?......

Post by hummingbird »

Need your opinions on whether you think this Mont Aureo Marginata is virused.
I bought it last yr at a respectable nursery, but this yr it isn't looking so great. Not sure if it's due to the cold spring here as this one did take a very long time to come up opposed to my more mature clump of this same hosta.
I don't see any blotchiness, but all those bumps (warts) is what has me puzzled. Hopefully these pics are good enough to see it. If not I'll try and take better ones. Your help/advice is appreciated.
Attachments
PICT0003.JPG
PICT0001.JPG
"Friends are as elusive as rainbows"
flowerchild59

Post by flowerchild59 »

I think that is frost damage, but I am no expert by any means.
On the keyboard of life always keep one finger on the escape key.
Cheryl
My Hosta List
hummingbird

Post by hummingbird »

Hi Cheryl, I really do like your answer :lol: . Hope your right and others agree.
shadylanejewel
USDA Zone: 8a

Post by shadylanejewel »

Sorry Rachael

You're not going to like my answer.

Yours looks exactly like the ones I bought in last year. When they came up I thought they looked like they had frost damage, so I cut off the leaves and let them come up again. They still didn't look right so I sent leaves to Dr. Lockhart and all tested positive for HVX.

I bought them from NW Bulb & Perennial and they had brought them in from a Dutch grower. Is there anywhere for you to have yours tested?
Julie

"To Plant a Seed is a Noble Deed - Propagation is Conservation" Norman C. Deno, Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
Chris_W
Administrator
USDA Zone: 9

Post by Chris_W »