Sum and Substance HVX ???

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

Dick Shepardson

Sum and Substance HVX ???

Post by Dick Shepardson »

I just found this forum and this is my first attempt to post. We had a garden walk this last Sunday and someone identified a hasta they said had a problem. I found this forum while trying to track down the problem. I think I have about 12 hostas infected with HVX. I'll try to post a picture of a large Sum and Substance that I think has to go (I'm depressed). Would like confirmation on this.
Attachments
Sum and Substance HVX.jpg
Sum and Substance HVX.jpg (36.26 KiB) Viewed 2351 times
Darlene

Post by Darlene »

I have a Sum and Substance that looks the same as yours. I have isolated it and plan to wait another week before trashing it. I had a huge Glory that was sick and then I found this forum and realized it had the virus. I had bought it in 2003 from a very well known hosta dealer in upstate SC . I don't believe he knew about the virus but I don't know if any of the other hosta from 2003 are sick. Now that I am aware of the virus I check daily. The sum and substance and Glory are the only ones NOW! This is making me sick!!! I have hundreds of hosta.
GOD GROWS THE FLOWERS AND i TEND AND ENJOY THEM
newtohosta-no more

Post by newtohosta-no more »

That is so sad to see. :( I am no expert but it sure does look like HVX to me. Wait til Chris has a chance to pop on and take a look.