just got some suspicious plants in trade

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

AriesF5

just got some suspicious plants in trade

Post by AriesF5 »

hey guys,
I'm a newbie. I've been hanging around on Gardenweb. I was told to come here for HVX help.

I just traded some plants for hosta. When they came in, I was amazed at the amount of care the woman showed in packing them. But alas, a closer inspection turned up what I think (remember I'm a newbie) is HVX :eek: . Can anyone help me out here. Please help. If one is infected, should I throw them all out???

I contacted the trader, and she said that she had never heard of HVX. So needless to say, I informed one more person. And since she loves to share her hosta, she is going to tell others about it too.

Thanks for any help guys.

Paradise joyce

Whagon Wheels

Harder to see. On pearl lake.
John

Post by John »

They all look suspicious to me, I'd keep them well away from your other hostas; someone more expert will be along to help you I am sure. And welcome to Hallson's.
caliloo
USDA Zone: SE PA z6

Post by caliloo »

Welcome to Hallsons!

Yes, the Paradise Joyce is very suspicious looking and it is one that is high on the list of likely to be infected.

The others I am not as sure of... they may just look ratty because it is the end of the season. Hopefully more experienced people will offer opinions!

Good luck and welcome again!

Alexa
Spring - An experience in immortality.
- Henry D. Thoreau
newtohosta-no more

Post by newtohosta-no more »