Newb needs HVX ID, please

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

pmblonestarlady

Newb needs HVX ID, please

Post by pmblonestarlady »

Okay, I'm new at hostas and not feeling too confident about trying to ID HVX myself. Can anyone help with these photos? I do not know the cultivar, but I have 3 of these growing together. Got them late last summer from a reputable nursery in the bargain bin (hostas don't do too well here by the end of our roasting summers). All look healthy this year--multiple eyes, nice size, budded out already. BUT they are supposed to have cream margins.

Photo 1 is the top of the leaf; photo 2 is the underside.
Attachments
hosta2Back.jpg
hosta1.jpg
hosta1.jpg (43.88 KiB) Viewed 1762 times
eastwood2007

Post by eastwood2007 »

Hi! Where are you located? How long have these been up? I am not an expert, especially not knowing the variety, but sometimes cream can start out green or gold then turn as they mature thru the spring and summer. Some others from the forum will likely come to your rescue with good answers! :D
Charla
Latitude 38.57N; Longitude -94.89W (Elev. 886 ft.)
pmblonestarlady

Hi, Charla. Thanks--that's useful info to have!

And you are right; they've only been up about a month. Surprised me... I wasn't sure if they'd live or not. They were pretty crispy when I planted them last fall. But they came up early (everything came up really early this year) and are already budded.

I do have a tag, by the way, if it helps. Looks like these three (the ones I scanned) are Francee.
LucyGoose

Post by LucyGoose »

Hello, and welcome!!!

Can you put where you are from in your profile? It will help us help you.....Thank-You! :wink:

I have Francee and I am not sure that is what you have.....I hope Chris will see this to help you....

Good Luck and again, Welcome!! :D
Attachments
The hosta's all around the tree are Francee.....:-)