Is this HVX on this "variegated" Kiwi Forest?

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

tehegemon

Is this HVX on this "variegated" Kiwi Forest?

Post by tehegemon »

Hello,

I'm new to hostas and the forums here, and was perusing hosta photos online when I came across these images:
http://www.lihosta.com/images/variegate ... forest.jpg
http://www.lihosta.com/images/variegate ... rest_2.jpg

Is this HVX?

I hope it's OK that I posted these links to another web site. If not, please let me know.

Thanks in advance for your help in educating me about this virus!
Chris_W
Administrator
USDA Zone: 9

Post by Chris_W »

Hi,

First, let me mention that Kiwi Forest has a uniquely mottled pattern that is NOT a virus. I've had them repeatedly tested and no virus were present. But this one is different from a normal Kiwi Forest. If it isn't HVX then it is some other kind of virus. The pattern is uneven and blotchy and the "variegation" only follows the veins.

Also, look in the lower right corner of the picture. The hosta behind it looks like it might be showing some virus symptoms too!

I've seen some other Kiwi hostas that were badly infected with some kind of virus and in a couple the pictures looked like HVX PLUS another kind of virus that has been found in hostas but not yet identified :???:

I would steer away from this one :wow:

Chris
eastwood2007

Post by eastwood2007 »

Chris, what is this about another kind of virus found in hostas, but not yet identified? :eek:
Charla
Latitude 38.57N; Longitude -94.89W (Elev. 886 ft.)
tehegemon

Post by tehegemon »

Chris,

Thank you for your prompt reply to my inquiry!

Wow, I completely overlooked the hosta in the background until you pointed it out ~ thank you!