What to ask a Nursery?

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

Ducks_57

What to ask a Nursery?

Post by Ducks_57 »

I am rather new to Hosta gardening and I purchased several cultivars from what I believe to be a very reputable on-line nursery prior to knowing about HVX. This particular grower has a fairly extensive and informative website, but does not say a thing about HVX. I wrote them an e-mail asking “how there stock was” and I received a short return e-mail that started out with …

“Obviously, we would not sell a plant if we thought it had a virus infection or any other disease.” And then somewhat played down the problem saying that some of the articles make it sound scarier than it is.

So my questions are…what should we expect from growers? Is it too much to expect that they e-mail buyers of cultivars that they discover HVX in? What specific questions should we ask?

Thanks,
ELB- Haddonfield, NJ
eastwood2007

Post by eastwood2007 »

Welcome, Ducks_57! You have found a great place to visit, share gardening experiences, and get good advice. Hope you enjoy it!

Regarding your question, HVX is definitely as 'scary as it seems.' There are many, many reputable nurseries playing down the significance of the HVX epidemic. If you read thru alot of the posts on this section, you will hear story after story of similar responses.

I hope more 'experts' (which I am not) will answer your question here, but my opinion is I would not buy from a supplier who responded to my question with the response you received, and I would tell that supplier that I will not buy from them and why.